We all have one and some are nastier then others and some are quieter and some are louder.

What promoted me to blog on this subject was an article in Good Health Magazine(NZ)

Others may know the inner critic as our ‘Internal Dialogue’

It’s pretty much something we developed through our youth and was molded by how we were treated by important influences in life, such as family, friends and/or teachers.

So, if we were treated pretty respectably and in an encouraging manner, our inner critic will be quieter and less harsh.

And if we were treated more unkindly, more discouraged, more insulted and less supported, our inner critic will be quite loud and more harsh and affect our thinking and actions more so.

I know my inner critic was molded in the less positive way and therefore, I have had many struggles in my life, with such things as self doubt, self respect, self love, self esteem and confidence.

I think I am definitely improving in this area. But it made me think.

Think about what my inner critic might be telling me at times and how this effects my choices and how I can challenge it’s attacks.

I think this might be able to be categorized under the areas of Mindfulness and Self Awareness. As work in these 2 areas can benefit us and help us to become more aware of our internal dialogue and work to improve things for ourselves.

Not sure what more to say on this subject. Just felt it was a worthwhile subject to write about and provoke thinking about.

